A Very Memorable Weekend

Instead of trying to recapture my thoughts from earlier posts that were sitting in my “edit/proofread” slots, I decided to ditch them all and start with this past weekend.

We took a little trip to Virginia for a few days of family time.

We left home about 4 am and drove through the mountains while the sun was waking up.

 Here’s the sun peeking over the clouds… Along with some fog we encountered…but it was pretty.

The cousins were hanging around after the “serious” pictures were finished. My sons were glad to meet their cousins – it has been 5 years since our last visit and that is too long to wait, if you ask me. The cousins ages are: 15, 10, 10, 8, 6, and 3 years – the missing cousin is 20 but she had to work. Next time – she will be there.

Sunday was spent at Smith Mountain Lake, we were there for several hours. According to one of relatives, this is the same beach where “Dirty Dancing” was filmed. The kids made a sand castle – with the help of an adult.

The evening brought some veggin’ time for the cousins – they were too tired to play outside so they lounged on the floor and played electronic games. It was serious business…

We left on Monday and drove the long way home – we stopped for a fast visit with some friends outside of Knoxville, TN. But the Smoky Mountains were beautiful to drive through. I don’t have many photos of that part of the trip as I was the one behind the wheel. Last I checked, it was difficult to take pictures and drive…

It was truly a memorable weekend had by all.

 

 

Leave a comment