The Big 4-OH!

Birthdays have been celebrated by a phone call, card in the mail, or silly emails amongst friends and family. This year, however, while I was hoping for my birthday to fly under the radar…yeah, like THAT was going to happen!

Turning a milestone age is like having a bright neon arrow pointing at you for the entire world to see. Or in this case, black crate paper twisting around the ceiling the entire length of the hallway.

I arrived at work to a doorway of black…around the office was strung signs of old age…literally. “Over the Hill” and “Entering the Golden Years” were hanging from the door, window, walls, and desk.

20130423-195638.jpg

“Over the Hill” and “Entering the Golden Years” were among the signs hanging around my office.

20130423-195712.jpg

Yeah, I heard them all. Right down to the box of Polygrip and corn cushions my boss gave me.

20130423-195835.jpg

The highlight of the day was the cake – my good friend made sure I had THE perfect one. Who else would argue with a baker for a Christmas cake in March?

20130423-200308.jpg

Though we don’t usually celebrate birthday’s in outrageous ways, I must say this one is among my favorites. The birthday celebration carried on through the week and officially ended this past Sunday – after a trip to Kentucky which was given as a birthday gift! More about that trip later…

20130423-202031.jpg

One thought on “The Big 4-OH!

Leave a Reply

