The July Wedding

The past couple months was dedicated to wearing the “Wedding Planner” hat.

When a good friend of mine became engaged, I told her part of her gift would be her flowers. As in I would make them for her.This included the wrist corsages and boutonnieres in addition to those for the bridesmaids. Not to mention the mini-bride, junior bridesmaids, and flower girl.

Flowers snowballed into decorating details for the entire reception. At first I was a bit shocked and concerned, but once we started working together, everything fell into place.

I spent almost every weekend since April working on some aspect of her wedding. The hardest part was over – she knew her colors and what types of flowers she wanted. The rest was the minor headaches – tablecloths, center pieces, head and cake table, backdrop, etc.

My children helped on Friday to decorate the community hall. Afterwards, my darling daughter comments that when it’s her turn to get married, she will not have green. To which my wonderful son agreed.

This is a close-up of the shadow box I made for them. I made their invitation with their names and date as the central visual point. I also used some left-over ribbon and roses to decorate the outside.

The decorating took us four hours yet the take-down was a half-hour. The kids couldn’t believe the difference – I explained putting the decorations up everything has to be perfect, but taking down, as long as nothing gets broken, the decorations can go into any box available.

The head table and the backdrop.

               The view of the head table from the entryway.

Sitting in the chair is my teenager, anticipating the moment we can exit the building as he watches me take a few shots.

                                                                                   You can’t see them, but there are green and purple Gerber daisies to place in the tall vases with the same color water beads. I also had colored water in star candle holders, with two candles floating in them. (My youngest smiling for the camera.)

 The newly weds posing for pictures.

At the end of the night, both of their mothers came up to me and complemented on how everything looked. But I really made their nights when they asked how they could help take down and I told them to just go home and relax.

Leave a Reply

