Five Question Friday: 12.30.11

Come join the fun! You know you want to! Click the picture for the link to some crazy or thought provoking questions. You never know what you might learn about yourself!

1. What’s the oldest piece of clothing in your closet?

Prior to September, it would have been my wedding dress – 20 years. But my parents came out and brought a pullover I had purchased when I was a teenager working along the boardwalk inJersey. Talk about a life-time ago! But hey, it still fits and it’s just as comfortable now as I remembered.

How old is it? Twenty-two years old.

What condition is it in? No holes, no frayed ends, no stains, and no wrinkles.

2. How many random blog readers have you met?

Define met. And are we talking those online or in person?

I have learned that several of my friends, coworkers, and other various acquaintances are bloggers. I didn’t know they were bloggers. I mean they never went around wearing shirts or hats advertising “hey look at me! I’m a blogger!” And it never really comes up in conversation..”how are the kids? Work? Blogging?” “I have so much to do today – the kids are sick, I have a dentist appointment and I can’t forget to blog.” My life doesn’t work that way. The only way blogging comes up in my conversations is when someone in my real life says “hey I found you on twitter. I didn’t know you blog too!” Then it turns into a blogging conversation – which leads to an interesting conversation and a half.

As for meeting random bloggers I follow – I’ve never met anyone. I’d love to meet some of the ones I follow. They are hilarious and have similar interests. Heck, I followed one by mistake and have ended up learning I had a lot of things in common with them. But meeting them in person? Nope. I’d like to – although some of them don’t live on the same continent as I do, so that might prove difficult. Unless by some miracle I win the lottery. But last I heard, in order to win that, you have to play it.

3. Do you let your kids stay up till midnight on New Years Eve? (Or, if you don’t have kiddos yet, did you get to stay up until midnight as a child?)

Yes…and yes!

I remember being in elementary school and my parents would let us all stay up to watch the ball drop. There would be many neighbors outside honking car horns, fog horns, or banging on some pots all yelling “Happy New Year!” But the second the singing and cheering was over, it was off to bed.

This is a tradition I have with my own kids. We let them stay up or if they want us to wake them up, we will. We don’t go outside, though. I think we’d scare the neighbors. The neighborhood is usually tucked in for the night or several of them are at bars or friends homes celebrating. Either way, we stay indoors, calling our relatives at each hour marking off the New Year for the time zone they live in. Then it’s off to bed for a few hours.

This year, though, it won’t be just us celebrating the New Year. My husband’s parents are visiting and we plan to play some games throughout the night until we all decide it’s enough.

4. What are the gas prices where you live?

Is this a joke? Which day? What time?

Yesterday morning gas was $3.29, by the time evening came and I had to buy gas the price was up to $3.39. This afternoon the price was down to $3.32 which then went up to $3.36 by evening.

newsinsacramento.com

It makes me wonder what they are thinking…but then I realize they aren’t!

5. What is one resolution that you know you should do but are too afraid to try?

I don’t have any resolutions I’m afraid to try.

My one resolution this year is to cook more healthy meals. I already have been doing that, but I want to cook different meals. I feel as if we have been in a rut – cooking the same meals week after week. It happens because of budgets (we know how much it will cost), ease (we know how to make it so the entire family will eat), and time (we can schedule our meal prep accordingly without worrying we won’t have time to eat before going to [enter weekly commitment here]). 

Leave a Reply

