Five Question Friday – 11.18.11

 

Join the fun every week with some thought-provoking (or not) questions!

 

You never know what you might learn about yourself…or your neighbor! 

 

 

1. Do you have a go to song that always puts you in a good mood?

 

Cheery Christmas music. Any time of year.

 

I’m a Christmas freak. It doesn’t matter what time of year. Give me some Bing Crosby and his “White Christmas” or Bruce Springsteen with his “Merry Christmas Baby” and I am a happy camper.

 

My fellow employees have checked on me when it’s the middle of April and “It’s Beginning to Look Like Christmas” is streaming from my speakers.

 

Christmas music is my quick stress reliever, pick me up, and any other time I need to calm down from the real world.

 

Merry Christmas (Bing Crosby album)

 

   

 

 2. Are you a real Christmas tree kinda person or do you go with a real fake one?

 

Well, poo. 

 

This question makes me sad-ish. (Is too a word!)

 

I have artificial Christmas trees. But I also have a tree in almost every room in my house. (See why here.) Having said that, I would love to have a real Christmas tree. But the sad truth is I can’t breathe with one. 

 

Asthma has its downers. I literally can not breath. I can’t even go near a real Christmas wreath without feeling like my lungs are wrapped in saran wrap…in an oven. 

 

My husband wanted one – just for our first Christmas together. Until we went to a Christmas party hosted at one of our friends. We were barely two feet in the door when my lungs started protesting. A lot. My husband gave me a look. Barely married six months, he never saw an asthma attack. He did that night. What an eye-opener. For both of us. For him, he didn’t think I was going to survive. For me, it was the first time I saw just how much he could be freaked out by my lack of oxygen. 

 

So yeah, no real trees in this house. Ever. And with two boys with the same hereditary lack of lung power – that would be doubly never. 

 

A christmas tree.

 

3. What are you thankful for?

Family. Friends. Health. Home. Work. Is there really an end to my list? I think not.

I am so very thankful for the blessings the Lord has bestowed upon my life. 

From my daughter’s medical condition – which is decreasing – to my promotion at work, not to mention a newer, better job for my husband, I am thankful for my faith. Thankful that regardless of what may come, my Lord has my back – even if He has to carry me Himself. 

 

4. Which fashion fad from the past do you wish you could wear today?

 

How about none? 
Okay, let me think…
Platform shoes? No thanks. Big hair? Definitely not! Anything from the ’80s? I am sticking solidly with the negative. Somethings should stay in the past. 
I think I am back to my original answer. Absolutely nothing. 

 

5. Do you wait until the “low fuel” light comes on before you fill up the gas tank?
No. Mainly because I drive a gas-guzzler and if I wait until the light comes on, then I have to pay a ton to get the needle back to the F on the gauge. I love my truck, just don’t like to pay three digits to get a full tank of gas. Okay, it’s not quite three digits, but sometimes it gets close. 
Now for the other vehicle, that one does see the light before it gets the gas. But then again, that one is the one which travels the furthest. 

 

Leave a Reply

