Five Question Friday

1. If your husband had the BIG V and you got pregnant what would your first reaction be? For the dudes, what would your first reaction be if your wife told you she was pregnant after the Big V?

I’d be amazed. Totally speechless, really. Considering I had some mega surgery a few years ago – of which a hysterectomy was included – and having a baby at this stage in my life would be insane. Hehe

But I’ll play along for the sake of the questions and think back to when my husband had a date for his Big V procedure. Only he never made it because I ended up being pregnant a couple of days beforehand. Shock soon passed into joy as I contemplated the good side of having a baby. I’m not a big baby person, so this list was short but I had to cling to it with all my might so I wouldn’t fall into some type of depression. The other kids were 10 and 4, so the gap was big enough I didn’t have multiple kids in diapers and bottles.

I know many couples who have had the Big V and have learned they were expecting a baby afterwards. But usually it was because they failed to listen to the doctor when they were warned how long it would take to “take”.

2. Best memory about this summer so far.

Our family vacation to Washington D.C. We spent a couple of days walking around the D.C. area, exploring the museums and looking at the national monuments. Despite the insane heat index of 118 degrees Fahrenheit, we had a great time in the country’s capital city. From historic documents to statues to swimming in the hotel pool, all the kids agree it was the best family vacation we had in a few years.

3. How often do you change your sheets? Your kids sheets?

How often? Every Friday night or Saturday morning, unless we are going out-of-town for the weekend, then they get swapped out the night before we leave. The boys didn’t like it when they first had their bunk beds together, but now it’s just part of the routine and are okay with it. Of course, mom has to keep moving the 9-year-old along as he stops every time he finds treasures which were lost during the week.

4. Having just gone through TSA, would you rather have a full-body scan or a pat-down?

Can I choose none of the above?! I have noticed different airports have different security requirements. The airport near me has a metal detector and the pat-down is a second choice while the one up in Wisconsin has the pat-down as the first choice and the fully body scan as the secondary. I did not like either. I had the woman take a wand and wave it around me and then do a pat-down, I felt like I was the enemy. Had I not taken off the sweatshirt I was using in place of a jacket, they would have made me go through the full-body scan. Ugh.

I understand the reasoning, but something a little less intrusive, please. Isn’t it enough to have to take off my shoes, open all my carry-on bags, place my laptop, camera, and cell phone in separate trays to go through an x-ray machine while I have to go through a metal detector AND a wand search? Now to deal with a full-body pat-down or full-body scan on top of that? Double ugh!

 

5. Since it is fair time…what’s your favorite fair (county or state) memory?

I don’t attend fairs for myself. My husband and I both are not fans of county fairs. I don’t get into the 4-H thing – not that it’s a bad thing, it’s just not my thing. I don’t want people throwing rotten tomatoes at me for saying that. My kids attended 4-H when I homeschooled them. I do my part and not show my lack of desire. We bring them to the county fair so they can walk around and see the booths and such. The older ones know it’s not a favorite thing to do but it doesn’t stop them from asking to go. If they ask to go, we do what we need to do and we head out in the evening to enjoy the family time together.  So I guess to answer the question of what my favorite fair memory is would be to respond with: the laughter and excitement of the kids as they explore the booths, games, and rides.

3 thoughts on “Five Question Friday

  1. Pingback: Five Question Friday | We're Jumpin

  2. My goodness these questions are a little personal!

    I went through a TSA last year with my new laptop. I took it out of its wrapping and put it in my hand luggage. Thinking it need some extra padding I wrapped some knickers and other bits of undewear as it was not too bulky.
    I’d never taken a laptop through security before….what happened next?

    • I can only imagine, PIP! 🙂 I had a nightmare when I traveled with my business laptop and scanner. They had to open the check-on bag because of all the wires the scanner has. But when I took the bag off the turnstile, I noticed the zipper was broken and some wires were trying to peek out. What a joy it is to fly! lol Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

