Five Question Friday

1. If you knew your best friend’s spouse was cheating on her or him, would you tell her (him)?

Hmm. Considering I married my best friend, I’d have to tell him.

Seriously though, I would first confront the spouse to fess up to it themselves. If the spouse doesn’t have any intention of doing so, then I would talk to my friend about it, being sensitive to the fact that they could break down and cry, spilling out their emotional roller coaster because they were ashamed or they could get upset and deny anything is wrong. I would like to think I knew my best girl friend good enough to be able to handle the outcome, regardless what it may be. But sometimes, even though we might think we know our best friend, it ends up we didn’t know them as well as we initially thought – even if we’ve been friends for over 20 years.

2. Soda in a can or a bottle?

Soda is better in a tall glass with lots and lots of ice. To make it even better, the glass should contain Dr. Pepper. Not Mr. Pibb, not Dr. Thunder, and definitely not Cherry Coke. The soda should be pure, sugary sweet Dr. Pepper.

3. What do you wash first, hair or body?

Would you laugh at me if I said I had to pause on this answer until today so I could actually pay attention? Well, I did. I can tell how excited you are to learn that and I would wager it is as exciting to learn I wash my body first.

Feeling a little awkward right about now, so I’m going to move on…

4. What advice would you give to any new mama?

I would then encourage the new mother that those seemingly endless nights will end within a year or so.

Don’t believe everything you read. Sometimes your child will be off the books. So don’t get discouraged if your bundle of joy gets their first tooth at 9 months and not at 6 months. Sometimes a child will be “before their time” and get their tooth at a month old. It’s okay because that book, while containing some good information, is not the gospel truth about when and how your child will develop. If you feel you are going to gauge your child’s every movement by the book, then save yourself some aggravation and ditch the book now. Or you can light it on fire (outside in a contained area) and allow your precious child to watch the flames.  

Don’t fuss over a messy room, instead stop, place the baby on the floor (or bed) and PLAY with the little critter. Observe and watch how this tiny human moves and interacts with you and objects. The first year is filled to capacity with growth spurts and developmental breakthroughs. Enjoy every single moment – from the drooling mouth (from teething) to the small whimper when they try to reach, grab, walk, or crawl to something that is just out of reach. Most of all saturate yourself in their laughter and smiles. (Don’t buy into the “gas” thing, your child has a sense of humor and shows it by smiling.)

5. What is your best hangover remedy?

This one is a tough one for me. I don’t drink and have no remedy to getting over a hangover. For the sake of argument, though, I will put out my suggestion. Are you ready for it? Ok.

Don’t drink that much!

Was that too obvious? Alright, I’ll try again…

Best hangover remedy…sleep and coffee…maybe bread of some type to help absorb the lovely stomach acids which are now playing havoc. Oh! Darkness – I would think staying in a dark room would be much preferred as to being in the lights with the headache which accompanies said hangover.

Leave a Reply

