Five Question Friday

1. Do you think cursive writing is overrated? (Schools in Indiana have now voted to take teaching cursive writing out of their curriculum.)

Oh, this question hits me personally. I heard about this vote a few weeks ago and having children in the Indiana school districts, it is bothersome to me. I think cursive should continue to be taught to our lovely children. I’m not in favor of beating them over the head to learn it with all the curls and swirls. But I do feel it is important to learn for legal documents. Some people write better than printing, while others may feel cursive writing takes less time when dictating notes. Though it’s not true for all people, how will a person know if never given the opportunity? It’s just a thought.

As for the style of cursive taught, I think that should be left up to the person. I think some of the letters are just too swirly and squirrely. I remember being told over and over to rewrite certain letters, such as a capital S or lower case k. The point is: I don’t write in the same way I was taught. I have adopted my style of cursive. Depending on what I’m writing, sometimes the word is a mix of cursive and print.  For the most part, I do write in capital print, but when I’m in a business meeting or listening to a lecture, I will write in cursive as it’s faster than printing letters.

So the short answer is: cursive is not overrated.

2. Do you still use a pocket calendar or notepad or do you keep your info on your smart phone?

Yes, to all the above. I am an organization freak. Though I know life can not really fit into little neat compartments, I use calendars, notebooks, and my smart phone to stay as organized as possible. My husband bought me a smart phone a few months ago and I absolutely love it! It has reduced the use of my day runner type calendar. My smart phone has a calendar I use and update daily, as well as a note pad and a document writer which also get daily use.

My calendar has the typical reminders in it – birthdays, anniversaries, and other such parties. It also has my daughter’s work schedule, memo’s regarding my son’s plans with friends, appointments, work due dates, and even my vacation time. I really like the “to do” list on the calendar. That’s been fun to use as it saves the item on my phone’s home screen, enabling me to see it every time I look at the phone. So I don’t have to worry about forgetting to drop off a catalog to a customer or to pick up some milk on the way home from work.3. What 3 things would you save if your house was burning down? (family & pets are already safe)

My camera, my memory cards, and as many books as possible. I would take my computer, but odds are my husband would already have that with him and the kids. Hehehe

Besides, I can replace my computer but not the memory cards. The camera and books might seem replaceable, but I’ve had the camera for over 5 years and am still learning new things about it. As for the books, well, I’m afraid I won’t get any with that smell. It’s not a new book smell, nor is it musty, but some books just smell too good to let burn.

4. Country Mouse or City Mouse, err Person?

I’ve lived in the city and in the country and I love both places. The country holds my heart but the city holds my sanity. I’m not a shopper or anything, but I do enjoy going to places like museums, galleries, zoos, shows and other places of interest. At the end of the day, though, I prefer to sit outside, watching the stars and listening to the sounds of nature. So Country Mouse it is.

5. If you could pick ANY reality show to go on, which would you pick?

I am not a fan of reality shows, however, to play along with the questions, I choose the Amazing Race. I had watched the first two seasons and thought it was interesting where the teams traveled and the challenges they faced. I don’t think my husband and I would get much television time as we don’t argue or fight or throw hissy fits when things don’t go our way. However, we might receive the attention for our sarcasm and off-the-wall humor.

7 thoughts on “Five Question Friday

  1. This is the first time I am coming across your blog, so I’m not sure if I answer it here or not? But I will because I’m a huge fan of these questions! This is a really good idea! 1. OF COURSE we all need to learn cursive writing! It’s too elegant to fade away and besides, how are they supposed to learn their signature? 2. Most definitely keep everything on my smartphone – more specifically iphone :). 3. Hmm, that’s a hard one. Probably my little bear (my childhood stuffed friend), my box full of memories between me and my significant other, and my grandmother’s bible. There are a lot of other things, but those are the ones that come to mind! 4. CITY 5. American Idol – if I was good enough to make it through most of the season 🙂 Looking forward to next Friday!

  2. It is also my first time coming across your blog. Do you come up with the questions yourself? They are very thought provoking! 1 upsets me as well because cursive helped me learn how to write more clearly and it has also been proven to help with memory (the connectivity of the words can help it connect more clearly in the brain apparently). And 2 also caught my attention because as helpful as I think my iphone is, I definitely still depend on an agenda for keeping my life organized. It’s nice seeing everything laid out in front of you on paper. Good questions!!

    • Welcome! I do not think of the questions. I simply go to fivecrookedhalos.blogspot.com to get the thought provoking questions. 🙂 I do agree with you, I do like to see things laid out in front of me. And after the week I had, I have returned to paper as a backup system. My phone decided to tumble out of its case and now the screen doesn’t work. Very upsetting. But I guess that’s life! 🙂 Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

