Five Question Friday

1. How close to your childhood dreams is your life now?

Umm…let’s see…my list was something like this: marry a millionaire – didn’t happen, but wouldn’t trade my hubby for any amount of money; become a teacher or an architectural engineer – I home schooled my children, taught/teach at church & work in the trucking industry but am working with a contractor designing my home to be built within the next few months; children weren’t on my list – have three wonderful children who have captured my heart.

aldhinmatters.wordpress.com

2. What is one must have item for the summer?

Gardens. I love having flowers and veggie plants around the house.

 3. Do you have your kids stay up on school stuff during summer vacation? (Or, if you don’t have kiddos, did your parents make you keep up on school stuff during summer?)

The boys asked for mini-unit studies for the summer. Before they entered the public school, I home schooled year round, having breaks for ski season in the winter and a few weeks of vacation in the summer. They know I have enough material to keep their brains busy while sharpening the skills they learned the previous year. This year my teen son is going to study Italy while the younger one learns about snakes. Sounds simple enough, but I include all subjects of study while learning the over all theme – such as math, art, music, science, history, and grammar/spelling/reading.

4. Do you can or freeze fresh produce?

I do not do either. Any attempts in the past with either of these options have ended in failure. Currently, I do not have the time to do either, though I would like to freeze some of the fruits and veggies which are in season now. But thinking about doing it and actually doing it are two different things and something I do not have high on my priority list.

5. Do you get ready for the day first thing in the morning?

I do not get ready for the day until after I have my workout. Sometimes I put that off just to listen to the birds or watch the sun slowly rise in the sky. My work day doesn’t start until 8 and I live a whopping 3 minutes from the office, so I don’t have to be ready & functioning for a good hour and a half after I wake up.

Leave a Reply

