Sunday’s Sweetness

I’m grateful for

Freedom

Life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness – these are some of the things I wouldn’t have if not for the military personnel of the past or present.

I’m reading

The Nearest Exit by Olen Steinhauer

Yes, I am still reading it. The novel is about a secret agency within the CIA. Very intense, very well written, and very suspenseful.

I’m hoping

For the weekend to continue to move slowly.

As much as I love my job, I am really enjoying the extended weekend. Yesterday we went for a drive and found ourselves in Evansville. We watched Kung Fu Panda II in “Real 3-D”, ate dinner at the Texas Roadhouse and went shopping at the Sam’s Warehouse. I’m also hoping to reduce some of our monthly food shopping costs by going there and buying in bulk. We’ll see though, I haven’t gone regularly in over a year, so it’s back to drawing board of tracking our costs for a few months and comparing it to what we were spending.

I’m cooking..Husband’s grilling…

Cheeseburgers, hotdogs, and Italian sausages.

It’s 90 degrees out there with blue skies and bright sunshine. We ate outside and enjoyed the warmth after a week of temperatures in 50’s, rain, and tornadoes. It was nice to feel the warmth of the sun on my face. I’m planning to go back outside in another hour or so when the sun isn’t so high in the sky. The evening is cooler and it’s still light out there. Gotta love living in a central time zone but living by Eastern Time.

I’ve learned

Putting together an inventory list is very time-consuming.

I spent the last few months going through book shelves and bins, gathering all our books. Well, books related to themes from when our home schooling days and the kids no longer read or aren’t interested in. Such as the Babysitter’s club my daughter had when she was a kid that the boys are so not into. Today I thought I would start to log the books and separate them according to theme. Yeah, let me just say I have a table full of books and a sore tush after going through three piles. This will have to be rethought. Definitely rethought…

I found

Some buds on my cucumber plants!

I was watering the plants and saw the bright yellow flowers twinkling in the sunrise. I’m trying not to get overly excited because the cucumber plants last year budded, but then soon died. I’m hoping I won’t go down that path with these two plants, but they are larger this year than the plants were last year.

Picture of the week:

3 thoughts on “Sunday’s Sweetness

  1. Temperatures in the 50’s! Wow I would evaporate. Do you suffer with mosquitos there? We are plagued at the moment because of the heavy rain and then sun. I love my little veg patch and like you am excited because my first cucumbers have started to grow and even more excited as I’m experiementing trying to grow squash and they have just appeared – gingers crossed 🙂

    • hehehe I was thinking maybe you are growing ginger, too. 😉
      We don’t have mosquitos right now. The city is worried about them with all the flooding, but so far, the only pest we have is a grain fly. They look like mosquitos on steroids, but don’t bite. I’ve been trying to take a picture of one just because it’s insanely huge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

